Okotoks Raiders vs Six Nations Arrows

Minto Cup 2017
August 17, 2017
Score: 7 - 9

Match Report


Raiders Lose

Raiders 7 – Six Nations Arrows 9

Raiders’ Minto Player of the Game

Brett Craig

“who was dominant on defensive loose balls”












Early UPDATE August 17, 2017

Raiders battled the Arrows today, ahead at the start of the third period 5-4 but going down to defeat 7-9. The Minto Cup awards each team a Player of the Game. Brett Craig was recognized as the Player of the Game “who was dominant on defensive loose balls.”
While the only stat that counts is the score, on day one, Raiders’ sit at the top of the players scoreboard. Brett McIntyre with 4 goals and 1 assist is first in total points and tied for first in goal scoring, Travis Getz has the most assists, 4. Although he has the highest goals against at 9, goalie Kevin Orleman made the most saves, 51, of the four goalies at the Minto today. He has the second highest save percentage 0.85.
We will post a full game report soon. Here are some pics from the Wednesday and Thursday. Dave Fryer took some of the official Minto pictures. Gord Norrie was at the game tonight and will be posting his professional style photos as soon as the wifi is able.

Game 1 Minto Cup 2017
Finally it was here…the start to the 2017 Minto Cup and the Raiders drew the Ontario Jr A champs Six Nations to start the event off at the historic Brampton Memorial Arena. The arena definitely had a buzz to it as many of our wonderful Raider Nation traveled out east and lots of family and friends of the boys were in attendance to watch the opener for the Raiders.
The game started with all the talk about the heavily favored Six Nations team but it was the Raiders that came out to show them they belonged. The teams had a feeling out process to start and Kevin Orleman showed very early on why the Raiders made the move to acquire his services in net and Kevin was ready to play back in his home province of Ontario.
Both teams had many touches and showed that this could be a defensive battle as the stats from each team showed from the season with both teams having the lowest goals against in Junior A lacrosse. But it was the Raiders that started the scoring!! At 5:12 of the period 5th year assistant captain and leader Dylan Kinnear continued his scoring in the playoffs with his first goal of the Minto. A great passing play lead to the goal with Brett McIntyre and Cam Wengreniuk getting the helpers. The Arrows responded at 7:48 to tie the score as Cory Highfield finally was able to solve Orleman. He was also the only Arrow from this high powered offense to solve Orley and the Raiders defense in the first period. The goals went back and forth as Highfield at 9:55 made it 2-1. But under a minute later at 10:48 Raiders and AB JrA leading scorer Brett McIntyre tied it up with his first of the night. The Arrows then went up 3-2 at 14:48 with Highfield his third of the period. But at 18:02 McIntyre ensured that the Raiders would go the dressing room knotted at 3 with his second of the night. The boys showed they more than belonged with a great first period.
The second period saw these two teams keep up the high paced fast transition game. The Raiders came out with a great start to the period with Raiders addition Jake Foster going hard to the net and showing his scoring touch to score his first at 3:51 and give the boys a 4-3 lead. This was followed up by Cam Wengreniuk at 12:56 and the boys had the Arrows down 5-3 to the surprise of many in the building. Orleman continued his stellar play and made many great saves. Six Nations made it 5-4 at 14:13 and then thought that they had tied it up but the refs realized that the ball was on the outside of the net and the Raiders went to the room with a 5-4 lead and looking to start the tourney off with a huge victory over the Arrows who are frequent visitors the Minto Cup with two wins in the last 3 years.
The third period saw the Arrows show that this was not going to come easy to the Raiders and were not going to go anywhere. They tied the score up at 4:04 this was going to be a battle till the end. McIntyre with his third of the night made it 6-5 for the Raiders at 6:28. The Ontario champs showed why they are the champs as they started a 3 minute run that showed their offensive power. From 9:20 to 12:06 they scored 4 to take a 9-6 lead heading down the stretch. Brett McIntyre stopped the run at 15:42 with his fourth of the night to make it 9-7. The Raiders made a strong push to try and tie the score up but they just couldn’t seem to score any more goals and the Raiders finished their first game of the 2017 Minto with 9-7 loss. They played great and showed everyone that the Raiders are here for a reason.
Kevin Orleman with an outstanding performance having stopped 51 of 60 shots he faced including stopping 19 from Arrows standout Austin Staats. The MVP from the tournament committee for the game was Brett Craig with a solid night on defense for the Raiders.
The Raiders’ Player of the Game was Kevin Orleman. The Jordan McKinnon Hardest Working Raider on this night with his return to Ontario and an outstanding night taking draws and shutting down the Arrows offensive stars was Liam Patten.
The Raiders want to thank all of Raider Nation that followed us out to Brampton and look forward from the continued support as we face the Minto Cup defending champs and BC representative Coquitlam Adanacs with standout brother of former Raider Gulio Del Bianco, goalie Christian Del Bianco in the pipes. Come watch the boys play or tune in on line at 2pm Eastern Time, noon at home.
GO RAIDERS GO #PlayForEachOther #Livethedream



102. Jesse ChongYellow CardYellow Card
104. Derek Lloyd
107. Jake FosterGoal
9. Matthew FluetYellow CardYellow Card
112. Dylan KinnearGoalAssistAssist
113. Brett Craig
115 . Travis GetzAssistAssistAssistAssist
116 A. Brett McIntyreGoalGoalGoalGoalAssist
103. Carter BrandAssistAssist
120. Liam Patten
121. Kade McCormickAssistAssistAssist
22 A. Levi Anderson
23 C. Harrison Matsuoka
125. Tyler Sceviour
128. Danny Wright
129. Cam WengreniukGoalAssist
130. Kevin Orleman
130. Brandon Humphrey
131. Tate Farstad
132. Eric Dowie